About the Senate

The Senate is one of the two houses of the Australian Federal Parliament

It consists of 76 senators, twelve from each of the six states and two from each of the mainland territories.

It shares the power to make laws with the other House of the Parliament, the House of Representatives.

Senate Composition

The Senate in the 45th Parliament contains its largest cross-bench of 21 senators (7 AG and 14 others), compared with 18 senators (10 AG and 8 others) at the end of the 44th Parliament. Previously, the highest number had been 13 senators, in 2002-2005.

State senators were divided into two classes: short-term senators whose terms expire on 30 June 2019, and long-term senators whose terms expire on 30 June 2022. These classes were allocated according to the order of election. Details of senators’ terms of service are available on this page.

Source: Parliament of Australia

Full article here